South Carolina Theatre Association

Create, Cultivate and Connect

Our Story

he South Carolina Theatre Association, a subset of the Southeastern Theatre Conference, was founded on September 23, 1967 in Greenwood, South Carolina, by the 30 delegates representing community and educational theaters in South Carolina. SETC appointed Phillip Hill to be its representative in South Carolina, who worked diligently alongside SCTA’s first President, Donald McKellar, to call the meeting to order, appoint a committee to create a constitution, and elect officers.

The first annual convention was held at the Town Theatre in Columbia, South Carolina, on January 20, 1968. At this convention, the constitution and the by-laws were formally adopted. Town Theatre director John Bitterman booked Margaret Webster to perform in the program. In 1975, SCTA permanently moved the dates of the annual convention to be hosted in the fall.

An archive of the first 30-year history of SCTA can be found at the Special Collections section of the James B. Duke Library at Furman University. The documents are available to the public upon request.

The first committee of SCTA directors were as follows: Donald McKellar as President, Philip Hill as Vice President, Betty Hudgens as Secretary, and Gene Eaker as Treasurer.

In 2016, the Executive Board established a South Carolina Theatre Hall of Fame and inducted Dr. Phillip Hill as its first recipient.

Create, Cultivate, and connect theatre professionals, educators, participants, students, and patrons across the state of south carolina

Get Involved

You can impact South Carolina Theatre Association by joining our Footprints journey and by becoming a fundraiser. Join a campaign and download the Charity Footprints' free mobile fitness application and #GetFitGiveBack.

Contact Information

South Carolina Theatre Association
South Carolina Theatre Association
655H Fairview Road, Suite 258, Simpsonville, SC 29680